You Are Here: Home » Non classé » Cecafa settles for four guest teams

Cecafa settles for four guest teams

The teams will be trimmed to two after consultations and their availability ahead of next week’s drawing of the tournament fixture. Cecafa general secretary Nicholas Musonye disclosed that the above named teams are on the waiting list to compete at the tournament. Speaking in Nairobi,The Cecafa boss said only two teams will be invited as the tournament kicks off on November 25 through December 10. “We have a wide option of four-team line-up to be invited as guests on top of the other eleven members of the association,” said Musonye. He declined to unveil the criterion to be used in choosing the final two teams to join the full member teams. Should South Africa be selected, it will be their first time to compete at the tournament while Malawi, Zambia and Ivory Coast have previously participated. Malawi competed for the last time in the previous edition sharing the same group with Uganda, Kenya and Ethiopia. The team lost a quarterfinal tie to finalists Ivory Coast. Zambia was grouped with Tanzania Mainland, Burundi and Somalia but they were knocked out in the quarterfinals by Ethiopia. Ivory Coast was in Group B with Sudan, Zanzibar, and Rwanda and lost the final to hosts Mainland. Cecafa member countries are Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Sudan, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Zanzibar, Somalia, Burundi and Djibouti.Tanzania Taifa Stars are the defending Champions.

Signature : FM

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top