You Are Here: Home » CHAN » CHAN Orange 2014: South Africa under the scoop

CHAN Orange 2014: South Africa under the scoop

South Africa

South Africa's fans and supporters during the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations soccer match, South Africa Vs Cape Verde at Soccer City stadium in Johannesburg on January 19, 2013. The Match ended in a 0-0 draw. Photo by Christian Liewig/NCI/ABACAPRESS.COM - Copyright : South Africa

South Africa is the Host of the Orange African Nations Championship 2014, they are hoping to deliver a better performance than the previous version in Sudan, where they were disqualified by Algeria after losing (2 – 0). South African were disqualified in 2009 also after losing (2 – 0) and (1 – 0) to Zimbabwe

The Bafana Bafana were automatically qualified as the hosting team. It is the 4th competition organized by South Africa in the last 5 years, after the confederations cup in 2009, the world cup in 2010, and the African Cup of Nations 2013.

Gordon Igesund , the Bafana Bafana coach has announced the names of the 23 players participating in the CHAN.

The list doesn’t contain any of Orlando Pirates‘s players due to the refusal of the club to release the players called up for international duty, in a move to protest against the congesture of the calendar in the local league, that scheduled games during the tournament.

South Africa‘s 23 list comes as follows:


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Moeneeb Josephs (Bidvest Wits), Siyabonga Mpontshane (Platinum Stars)

Thabo Nthete (Bloemfontein Celti), Tshepo Gumede (Platinum Stars), Tefo Mashamaite (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Tuks), Kwanda Mngonyama (Bidvest Wits), Vuyo Simple (Pllatinum Stars), Bryce Moon (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs), Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Ryan Chapman (Bidvest Wits), Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Jabulani Shongwe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows), Lindokuhle Mbatha (Platinum Stars), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs)


Katlego Mashego (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Edward Manqele (Moroka Swalloows).


About The Author

Number of Entries : 1506

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top