You Are Here: Home » CAN Orange 2013 » Cote d’Ivoire name Afcon squad

Cote d’Ivoire name Afcon squad


Cote d'Ivoire players celebrating a goal - Copyright : StarAfrica

Cote d’Ivoire coach Sabri Lamouchi has named his final 23-man squad for the 2013 Orange Africa Cup of Nations which kicks off on January 19.

The list was unveiled on Thursday during a press conference at the Federation’s headquarters in Abidjan.

As widely expected, midfielders  Kader Keita and Jean Jacques Gosso, both without a club were snubbed while CSKA Moscow striker Seydou Doumbia was not included due to fitness problems.

On the other hand, Shanghai Shenhua forward Didier Drogba will lead the lines alongside Salomon Kalou, Gervinho and a host of other strikers.

Meawhile Manchester City’s box-to-box midfielder Yaya Toure is expected to run the middle of the park for the Ivorians while his brother Kolo who has returned to the City starting lineup in recent weeks is expected to keep the back tight.

Contriversially included in the squad is Paris Saint Germain’s Siaka Tiene who has been a bench warmer at the Qatari-backed French Ligue 1 outfit.

He will however fight for a starting bertth at left back with Arthur Boka.

The Elephants are drawn in Group D of the tournament alongside Algeria, Tunisia and Togo.

Full Squad

Barry Boubacar (Lokeren-Belgium) ,Yeboah Daniel (Dijon-France) , Sangaré Badra Ali (IAFC-CIV)


Bamba Souleman (Trazbonspor-Turkey) , Boka Arthur (Stuttgart-Germany) , Eboué Emmanuel (Galatasaray-Turkey) , Lolo Igor (FC Kuban Krasnodar-Russia) , Tiené Siaka (PSG-France) , Touré Kolo Habib (Manchester City-England) , Ismaël Traoré (Brest-France)


Abdul Razack (Manchester City-England) , N’Dri Koffi Romaric (Real Saragosse-Spain) , Max Gradel Alain (AS Saint-Etienne-France) , Tioté Cheick Ismaël (Newcastle-England) , Touré Yaya Gnegneri (Manchester City-England) , Ya Konan Didier (Hanovre-Germany) , Zokora Didier (Trazbonspor-Turkey)


Didier Drogba (Shanghai Shenhua-China) , Salomon Kalou (Lille-France), Koné Arouna (Wigan-England) , Traoré Lacina (Anzhi Makhachkala-Russia) , Bony Wilfried (Vitesse Arnhem-Netherlands), Yao Kouassi Gervais (Arsenal-England)

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top