You Are Here: Home » Hot news » Eto’o, Drogba nominated for Golden Foot award

Eto’o, Drogba nominated for Golden Foot award


Copyright : StarAfrica

Samuel Eto’o and Didier Drogba have been nominated for this year’s Golden Foot.

The Cameroon and Ivory Coast skippers are the only Africans amongst the nine candidates vying for the award to succeed last year’s winner Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

The award id given to active players of at least 29 who stand out for their athletic achievements and for their personality.

The other nominees are Trezeguet(France), Miroslav Klose(Germany), Andrea Pirlo(Italy), Andres Iniesta(Spain), Iker Casillas(Spain),Franck Lampard(England) and David Beckham(England).

The eventual winner would leave a permanent mould of his footprints on The Champions Promenade, on the seafront of the Principality of Monaco.

Past winners

2003: Roberto Baggio (Italy, Brescia)

2004: Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic, Juventus)

2005: Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine, AC Milan)

2006: Ronaldo (Brazil, Real Madrid)

2007: Alessandro Del Piero (Italy, Juventus)

2008: Roberto Carlos da Silva (Brazil, Fenerbahçe)

2009: Ronaldinho (Brazil, AC Milan)

2010: Francesco Totti (Italy, Roma)

2011: Ryan Giggs (Wales, Manchester United)

2012: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris SG)

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top