You Are Here: Home » national championships » Kenya’s AFC Leopards to conduct elections in June

Kenya’s AFC Leopards to conduct elections in June

AFC Leopards

Copyright : AFC Leopards

AFC Leopards  will now  conduct their elections on June  2013 after members  passed the new  constitution that mandates the office to run  for a term of three  years.

In a  well attended Special General Meeting(SGM) held on Saturday morning at Nairobi’s Nyayo National Stadium,over 700 members agreed for the Annual General Meeting(AGM) to be  held  in June.

Chaired by Club Vice Chairman Walter Onyino, members endorsed the controversial constitution that paved way for amorphous groups  to claim ownership of the club.

Onyino said they will now  embark on the forthcoming Membership drive after presenting their documents to the Registrar of  societies.

‘We want to present our letter that contained today’s SGM  minutes to the registrar of societies  to endorse it before  we embark with the membership registration.

The attendance was good.Members were calm,No emotions like previous meetings  and I believe we shall now move forward” said Onyino.

Onyino urged Leopards fans to remain calm after the club failed to get enough votes to feature in the newly launched lucrative  Kenya Power & Lightning sponsored Charity Cup.

Leopards were beaten by Mathare United by only 10 votes to finish in the top four clubs that were mandated to play in the tournament.

Nevertheless, Onyino disclosed that Leopards will play Tusker FC-Kenya Premier League champions in a pre season friendly match on Saturday 2nd of February at the Nyayo national stadium starting 3:00pm.

The face off will coincide with the finals of the Kenya Charity Cup that will be staged at the Moi International Sports Center Kasarani on the same date.

Both Tusker and AFC Leopards were locked out of the inaugural Kenya Charity Cup as they could not manage enough votes to see them among the top four teams.

Gor Mahia, Western Stima, Sofapaka and Mathare United were the most popular top four teams during the sms voting process.

In 5th place, AFC Leopards was locked out by ten votes getting 6,153 votes behind 4th placed Mathare United who managed 6,163. Tusker came 7th with 5,125 votes behind Bidco that had 5,510 votes.

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top