You Are Here: Home » national championships » Kenya’s Gor Mahia retain FKF Cup

Kenya’s Gor Mahia retain FKF Cup

Gor Mahia 24102012

Gor Mahia -

Gor Mahia retained the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Cup for the second year running after defeating Sofapaka 3-0 on penalty shoot-out after both teams battled to a barren draw in both regulation and extra time.

Gor will now represent the country in the CAF Africa Confederation Cup.Last year, Gor were knocked out in the first round by Ferroviaro de Maputo of Mozambique.

It was joy and celebrations for Gor fans that danced and cheered the eagerly awaited win after the final whistle. For Gor; it was a perfect outing after losing the Tusker Premier League (TPL) title last week to defending Champions Tusker.

Gor Mahia scored their spot kicks though Victor Ali, Moses Odhiambo and Rama Salim. However; Sofapaka missed three spot kicks through Eugine Asike, Abdallah Juma and Humphrey Mieno.

The entertaining and well attended match was graced by Nairobi Mayor His worship George Aladwa. However, Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Chairman Sam Nyamweya did not attend the tie. He was represented by his acting deputy Chairman Robert Asembo, and other National Executive committee (NEC) members.

After a barren draw in the regulation 90 minutes, the match went to extra time to determine the winner.

The nervous 30 minutes extra time saw Sofapaka failing to seal the match in the 103rd minute when Joseph Nyaga rasping shot from Humphrey Mieno’s corner hit the cross bar with Gor custodian Ivo Mapunda well beaten.

Three minutes later, Gor’s second half substitute Edwin Lavatsa came close to scoring but he collided with Sofapaka custodian Duncan Ochieng before the ball was cleared.

Sofapaka however enjoyed large chunks of the match with Gor Keeper Ivo Mapunda making several acrobatic saves.

But it was Gor who showed signs of danger with Kevin Omondi weaving from the right flank after beating Eugine Asike and Felly Mulumba but his rasping shot hit the crossbar.

Gor defence escaped narrowly in the 8th minute when Joseph Nyaga failed to score with Mapunda to beat after being set through by Heritier Luvualu.

Thereafter, it was a tale of missed chances with Sofapaka coming close on several occasion with the biggest culprit being John Barasa, Mieno and Joseph Nyaga.

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top