You Are Here: Home » Africa » Mali’s reconciliation commission heads appointed

Mali’s reconciliation commission heads appointed

Mali’s interim president, Dioncounda Traore has appointed the first three officials of the country’s dialogue and reconciliation commission, the establishment of which was recommended by the international community.A presidential decree issued on Saturday indicated that the Commission, will be lead by the Malian ex-minister of Defense, Mohamed Salia Sokona together with two deputies in the persons of Mrs. Toure Oumou Traore and Meti Ag Mohamed Rhissa.

Mohamed Sokona has been Mali’s ambassador to Burkina Faso and France.

The first deputy-president, Mrs. Toure Oumou Trare is currently leading the Coordination of Malian Women’s Associations (CAFO) while Mohamed Rhissa, the second deputy-president is a former teacher of French and current Lieutenant-Colonel at the Malian customs.

Mohamed Rhissa who is a Tuareg from the Kidal region is described as a moderate who could play a key role in efforts to re-establish dialogue between amongst Malians of different political persuasions scattered across the various regions of the country.

The next 30 other members of the Commission are due to be appointed next week.

The decree establishing Mali’s national reconciliation and dialogue commission was made on 6 March.

It stipulates that the establishment of such an institution was informed by the urgent need to restore lasting peace and national reconciliation in Mali.

Its members are to be appointed by the interim president of Mali for a two-year term.

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top