You Are Here: Home » Africa » S/Leone MPs give nod to 12 govt appointees

S/Leone MPs give nod to 12 govt appointees

Two prominent former opposition party members, Alhaji Usman Boie Kamara and Joseph Bandabla Dauda on Tuesday went through rigorous scrutiny in parliament alongside six other presidential appointees for ministerial positions.

Usman Boie Kamara was a former contender for the ticket to lead the Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP) in the presidential race in which Rtd. Brig. Julius Maada Bio won, whereas, Joseph B. Dauda was Finance Minister and also a strong contender with former Vice President Solomon Berewa for the SLPP leadership in 2007.

The parliamentary committee on Tuesday also interviewed other appointees most of whom have served in President Koroma’s previous administration, and were merely either retained and reshuffled in other positions to act as architects in the actualization of Koroma’s Prosperity Agenda. Among those approved are Mr. Alhaji Minkailu Mansaray, Minister of Mines and Mineral Resources, Mr. Joseph B. Dauda, Minister of Internal Affairs, Dr. Minkailu Bah, Minister of Education, Science and Technology, Alimamy P. Koroma, Minister of Works and Infrastructure, Mr. Mahmoud Tarawally, Deputy Minister of Education, Science and Technology, Alhaji Usman Boie Kamara, Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr. Sam Sesay, Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Food Security and Mr. Ibrahim Mansaray, Deputy Minister of Transport and Aviation.

The committee’s chairman, Sheku B.B. Dumbuya reiterated their impartiality in ensuring the successful outcome of its work.

He further told the appointees that their appointments by the president are subject to scrutiny by the Appointments Committee without which their appointments cannot come into effect.

© 2009-2016 StarAfrica

Scroll to top