African Footballer of the Year BBC: Here are the five finalists !

Who to succeed Riyad Mahrez? Elected “BBC African Footballer of the Year 2016”, the star striker of Leicester City will not be a candidate this year due to his not so stable performance with his team. The Algerian is not indeed one of the five nominees unveiled Saturday night by the British media for the prestigious trophy.

Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from Gabon, for the fifth time in a row, is among the five finalists, while Nigerian winger Chelsea Victor Moses is among the nominees for the first time.

Brillant with Liverpool, Teranga lead striker Sadio Mané and speedy Egyptian winger Mohamed Salah are also on the list, along with RB Leipzig Guinean playmaker Naby Keita.

the gunner of the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon Vincent Aboubakar, champion of Africa in 2017 with Cameroon and current best African scorer on the “Old Continent” with 15 goals in 17 appearances all competitions at the beginning of the season is not on the list.

It should be noted that the votes are open until November 27th on the BBC Africa website and that the announcement of the winner is scheduled for December 11th.

The five finalists:

1) Pierre-Emerick Aubameynag (Gabon / Borussia Dortmund)

2) Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool)

3) Naby Keita (Guinea / RB Leipzig)

4) Victor Moses (Nigeria / Chelsea)

5) Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool)